Former Champions Commit to Sanford International

Former Champions Commit to Sanford International

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – Three former major champions have officially committed to competing in the 2024 Sanford International. Bernhard Langer, Darren Clarke and Mike Weir will all play in this year’s tournament, taking place Sept. 9-15 at Minnehaha Country Club in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. 

Langer, who just returned to the PGA TOUR Champions after tearing his Achilles earlier this year, is the winningest player in PGA TOUR Champions history with 46 career victories. Included in those nearly four-dozen wins are twelve senior major titles – also a record. Born in Anhausen, Germany, Langer is a member of the World Golf Hall of Fame and has more than 100 worldwide victories during his five-decade career including two major championships – the 1985 and 1993 Masters. He represented Europe on the Ryder Cup team 10 times and captained the team to victory in 2004. Langer’s best finish at the Sanford International was a T3 in 2020.

Clarke was victorious in the first-ever playoff at the Sanford International during the 2021 tournament. The Northern Irishman claimed the title after defeating KJ Choi and Steve Flesch on the second playoff hole. Clarke, the winner of the 2011 Open Championship, has won 14 times on the European Tour and four times on the PGA TOUR Champions.

Weir, a native of Canada, has nine career wins, including the 2003 Masters Tournament and THE TOUR Championship in 2001. Weir has one win on the PGA TOUR Champions, the 2020 Insperity Invitational. Weir is also the Captain of the International Team for this year’s President’s Cup, set to take place in his home country of Canada two weeks after the Sanford International. The 2009 Canadian Golf Hall of Fame inductee will be making his fifth appearance at the Sanford International. His best finish was a T28 in 2022. He currently sits in 25th place in the Charles Schwab Cup standings.

Tickets to the Sanford International are now on sale. Patrons may purchase tickets at There are a number of ticket options available including PREMIER Club badges, daily grounds passes, weekend grounds passes and packages that include food and merchandise.

The Sanford International is the reigning recipient of the PGA TOUR Champion’s Fan First Award. The honor is presented to the PGA TOUR Champions event that goes above and beyond to create an elevated experience for every type of fan. All 28 PGA TOUR Champions events are eligible for the award.

Previous Sanford International Winners

2023 – Steve Stricker (-16)

2022 – Steve Stricker (-14)

2021 – Darren Clarke (-12)

2020 – Miguel Angel Jimenez (-14)

2019 – Rocco Mediate (-9)

2018 – Steve Stricker (-13)