NAHL Team Coming to Watertown, Gets Official Name

NAHL Team Coming to Watertown, Gets Official Name

KWAT Watertown – It’s now official: Watertown will have a team in the North American Hockey League.

The NAHL announced Friday that their Board of Governors has approved the membership application for Watertown’s team, which will be known as the Shamrocks.

The Watertown Shamrocks will compete in the Central Division beginning in the 2024-25 season. 

Owned and operated under Codington County Hockey Club LLC which includes Mark Gulbrandson, Vince Foley, Donald Sisson, and KC Finnegan, the Shamrocks will be the second NAHL team in South Dakota.

The Shamrocks will play their home games at the new Prairie Lakes Ice Arena.

The Watertown Shamrocks will be the seventh team in the NAHL’s Central Division. 

The Central currently has six teams including the: Aberdeen Wings, Austin Bruins, Bismarck Bobcats, North Iowa Bulls, Minot Minotauros and St. Cloud Norsemen.