Five Pierre Governors Make All-ESD in 2023

Five Pierre Governors Make All-ESD in 2023

The Pierre Governor football team will be playing for its seventh straight state championship on Friday night, but before the Govs and Yankton Bucks make it to dome, the All-ESD teams have been awarded.

The Governors will receive five players on this year’s All-ESD team. Both Jett Zabel and Matthew Brewer would be on the offensive side while the Govs would add Spencer Easland, Trey Lewis and Emmit Anderson on the defensive side.

Zabel has been a catalyst for the offense over the last couple of seasons for Pierre as he holds the career mark for touchdown receptions in Pierre Governor history. Out of the tight end position, Zabel should eclipse the 1000 yard receiving feat on Friday as he’s caught 17 touchdowns while also running in another five. Brewer, part of the offensive line has been a huge help for Zabel. The Governor offensive line has continued to be dominant, thanks in part of the senior leadership of Brewer. The Governor offense has scored a total of 60 offensive touchdowns in 11 games.

Defensively for Pierre, Easland leads the team in interceptions with his fourth of the season this past Friday as well as also a fumble recovery for five total takeaways this year. Lewis has been the do-it-all guy for the Govs. He’s got seven rushing touchdowns, a kickoff and two punt return touchdowns, but Lewis has two interceptions along with 37 total tackles with 3.5 tackles for loss. Anderson is second in tackles for Pierre with 49.5 total tackles including a team high six sacks and 17.5 tackles for loss. Anderson is part of a dominant defensive line which has helped force 24 turnovers in 11 games.

You can see a full list of the All-ESD team on our below. Pierre will face Yankton in the 11AA state championship on Friday with kickoff at 7:00 in Vermillion. Coverage will be on KCCR and on YouTube at KCCR Sports.