Pierre Drops SoDak 16 to O’Gorman as Season Closes

Pierre Drops SoDak 16 to O’Gorman as Season Closes

The Pierre Governor softball team’s season would come to an end on Tuesday as the O’Gorman Lady Knights would defeat the Govs 11-5 in the SoDak 16 advancing to the state tournament.

O’Gorman would strike first in the bottom of the third and lead 2-0 on back-to-back two out hits and then score five times in the bottom of the fourth to lead 7-0. Pierre would get its first two runs in the top of the fifth as Noel Kist and Ireland Templeton would each have a two out RBI single. However, O’Gorman would answer with three runs in the bottom of the fifth to extend the lead up to eight after the inning, but Pierre again would try and battle back as Sheridan Nickolas would hit a two out two RBI triple and then would score on and a Kara Weiss RBI single and the lead was cut to 10-5. OG would add a run in the bottom of the sixth and would close out the Govs with a 1-2-3 inning in the top of the seventh. Erin Leiferman would be tagged with the loss giving up seven runs on 12 hits with two walks and two strikeouts through four innings of work. Kist would finish off the final two innings allowing four runs on four hits and three walks. Pierre didn’t allow an unearned run in the game.

The season finishes at 6-13 in its first ever season. The Govs will graduate eight seniors on its inaugural team but will return six players with significant time on the varsity roster heading into next year.

Softball SoDak 16 Final Scores

Class AA

Lincoln 15, Aberdeen Central 0

Yankton 13, Stevens 4

Jefferson 13, Rapid City Central 3

Washington 2, Mitchell 0

Harrisburg 13, Roosevelt 2

Brandon Valley 1, Watertown 0

Brookings 11, Sturgis 0

O’Gorman 11, Pierre 6

Class A

Dell Rapids 24, Canton 0

West Central 17, Milbank 0

Dakota Valley 15, Sioux Falls Christian 0

Madison 15, Mobridge-Pollock 0

Tea Area 10, Flandreau 0

Lennox 3, Winner 1

Beresford 7, Vermillion 3

Elk-Point Jefferson 14, Wagner 1

Class B

Bon Homme 13, Avon 8

Gayville-Volin 11, Oldham-Ramona/Rutland 0

Deuel 6, Scotland/Menno 5

Hanson 16, Colman-Egan 4

Viborg-Hurley 13, Freeman/Marion/Freeman Academy 6