South Dakota Hall of Fame Class of 2023 Announced

South Dakota Hall of Fame Class of 2023 Announced

A rodeo trick rider, several amazing coaches and many incredible athletes will be part of a record 23 inductees into the South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame for this year. They will all be honored at an induction banquet Sunday, September 24th, in Sioux Falls.

This year’s class includes eight people going in under the “Legends” catagory. Those are people who are deceased that may have been overlooked in the past when only 3 inductees per year were honored. Nearly 400 people have been nominated, and the Hall now will have 356 members.

Here is the list of inductees and a brief description of their career.

Scott Bosanko – Aberdeen: Northern State basketball star drafted in the NBA

Linda Collignon – Established the dominant Madison High School gymnastics program

Marlyn Goldhammer – Wagner: Long time director of the SDHSAA

Chuck Iverson – Vermillion: All time great basketball player at University of South Dakota

Clarence Kooistra – Salem: 221 football wins at Garretson in a 31 year coaching career

Don Larson – Madison: record setting track coach at North Dakota State University

Jerry Miller – White Lake: Long time coach and among the foremost states sports historians

Dave Mydland – Sioux Falls: Responsible for South Dakota competing in Senior Baseball

Terry Nielsen – Sioux Falls: 1000’s of hours for Tennis Association, Howard Wood track, more.

Mark Ovenden: Over 45 years as radio and television broadcaster in Sioux Falls

Jim Schlekeway – Britton: Outstanding basketball player and coach at many levels

Bryan Schwartz – Miller: All around athlete who spent several years in the NFL

Brad Seely – Baltic: Long time assistant coach in the NFL

Dawn Seiler – McLaughlin: All time winningest girls basketball coach in state history

Jeff Turning Heart – Cheyenne-Eagle Butte: One of the best distance runners ever

They are joined by the folks going in under the “Legends” catagory.

Don Baker – Scotland: Coached multiple sports at the college level

Gene Breemes – Phillip: Established Rapid City Stevens as a track and cross country power

Harvey Hammrich – Ipswich: 41 years as a coach of multiple sports and athletic director

Lien Marso – Harrold: Outstanding athlete in high school and at South Dakota State

Dean Minder – Wilmont: Sportswriter, baseball coach and umpire in Mitchell

Mattie Goff Newcombe – White Owl: World Champion female trick rider in the 1920’s

Mike Roach – Rapid City Cathedral: 42 year football coach at multiple levels

Joe Thorne – Beresford: SDSU athlete who traded pro career for military service

The South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame was started in 1968 by the South Dakota Sportswriters Association. The Hall is now run by a committee of over 30 volunteers from across the state. Ticket information for the banquet will be announced later.

For more information on the inductees, contact Mike Henriksen, 605-595-8487, John Papendick, 605-290-9677, or Executive Director Jim Dorman, 605-940-1262.