Three Former Capitals Receive Honor to Inaugural Hockey Hall of Fame Class

Three Former Capitals Receive Honor to Inaugural Hockey Hall of Fame Class

The South Dakota Amateur Hockey Association will be inducting its first class into its Hall of Fame in April. Monday, the recipients found out they were going to be in the class, which includes three former Oahe Capitals.

Austin Wagner, Landon Badger and Matt Ferris will all be inducted into the SDAHA Hall of Fame. The three have combined 738 points and are three of the only four Capitals to reach 200 points in their Capitals career.

Wagner is the all time leader in points at 263 and goals at 158 in Capitals history. Wagner played from 2010-2013 for Oahe and was part of the 2010-2011 team which won the state championship, the team’s only state title in program history.

Landon Badger finished with 233 points, fourth all-time in Capitals history, and third most goals at 144. Badger played from 2013-2016 and helped lead the 2015-16 team to finishing first in the league during the regular season, the last time the Capitals have won the league regular season title. This is Badger’s second Hall of Fame induction after being the first Pierre Governor inducted into the South Dakota High School Baseball Hall of Fame last year.

Matt Farris played from 2004-2007 before playing for the Sioux Falls Stempede in the USHL and also for the Princteon Tigers of the Ivy League. Farris is second in goals in Caps history with 157 and is in third place in points at 242. Farris helped lead the Capitals to its first ever league title and appearance into the state championship game in 2007.

Other inductees into the South Dakota Hall of Fame is Glenn Caraco of Sioux Falls and Justin Kirchhevel of Brookings in the player category. In the builder category inductees include Tom Hitchcock and Jack Vosler of Huron, Tom Honkomp of Brookings, Greg and Nancy Odde of Aberdeen and Dave Tronnes and Maxine Tronnes of Mitchell. In the coaching category, Randy Honkomp of Brookings and Dick Novak of Rushmore will be inducted and Mike Regar of Brookings will be inducted as an official. There will be a banquet on Friday, April 14 at 7:00 at the Sioux Falls Convention Center.