Three Raiders Selected for 9A All-State Team

Three Raiders Selected for 9A All-State Team

The Lyman Raiders would receive three players on the 9A All-State team with one on offense, one as an athlete and the other in the honorable mention.

All three Raiders were seniors in 2022 as Cooper Long picked up the All-State award out of the wide receiver position. Mike Kieffer, head coach of the Lyman Raiders, says he was an explosive and dynamic receiver…

The Raider quarterback, Teegan Gourneau, was selected in the athletes category as Rylan Peck, Gregory’s quarterback was selected as the 9A quarterback. However, Kieffer says it’s one of the hardest positions to get, but it doesn’t detract from the success Gourneau had all season…

Wagner was put up for the running back spot and while making honorable mention, Kieffer says he was integral to the Raiders success this season…

The Raiders finished the season at 9-2 and a semifinalist in Class 9A. You can see a full list of the 9A All-State team below.



Quarterback: Rylan Peck, Gregory, jr.

Fullback: Trey Murray, Gregory, jr.;

Running back: Hunter Cramer, Warner, jr.; Owen Hansen, Gregory, sr. and Rylee Veal, Harding County/Bison, so.

Wide receiver: Cooper Long, Lyman, sr.; and Jovi Wolf, Chester Area, jr.

Tight end: Gage Gilbert, Harding County/Bison, sr.

Offensive line: Isaac Hoeft, Warner, sr.; Chris Wuestewald, Wolsey-Wessington, sr.; Gunnar Stephens, Gregory, sr; and Austin Matthaei, Canistota, sr.


Defensive line: Devin Woosley, Warner, sr.; Grey Gilbert, Harding County/Bison, sr.; Trace Ortman, Canistota, sr.; and Eli Fogel, Gregory, sr.

Linebacker: Noah Kleinsasser, Canistota, sr.; Ashton Schuchhardt, Warner, sr.; Booker Schooley, Castlewood, sr.; and Ben Zwart, Colman-Egan, sr.

Defensive back: Kade Stukel, Gregory, sr.; Carson Kirwan, Castlewood, sr.; and Layton Terkidsen, Philip, sr.

SPECIAL TEAMS: Quincy Thu, Castlewood, jr.; and Jon Nefzger, Estelline-Hendricks, sr.

ATHLETES: Teagan Gourneau, Lyman, sr.; and Colin Bauman, Deubrook Area, sr.

ALL-AMERICAN SELECTION: Ashton Schuchhardt, Warner, sr.

HONORABLE MENTION: Tage Ortman and Cayden Scott, Canistota, jrs.; Lane Tvedt, Castlewood, jr.; Tance Wagner, Lyman, sr.; Jake Jorenby, Deubrook Area, jr.; Tate French, Wolsey-Wessington, jr.; Keegan Haider, Wolsey-Wessington, sr.; AJ Lindksov and Jayden Miller, Timber Lake, srs.; Zach Wood, Warner, sr.; and Dominic VanEgdom, Alcester-Hudson, jr.