Governors Receive 10 on All-State Team

Governors Receive 10 on All-State Team

After winning its sixth straight state title a couple of weeks ago, 10 Pierre Governors received honors of being placed on the 11AA All-State team including the 11AA All-American Selection.

It was a balanced selection as five Governors came from the offensive side of the ball while three Governors were selected on the defense and Pierre also had a representative in the special teams category and athlete category. Offensively, Pierre was led by the three team all-state quarterback Lincoln Kienholz who finished the year throwing 46 touchdowns on 3422 yards and also ran in 24 touchdowns with 1435 rushing yards. Jack Merkwan caught 48 passes for 1058 yards and 11 scores while tight end Jett Zabel had 13 TD grabs and 842 yards. Cade Kaiser, the athlete selected for the All-State team had 12 touchdown receptions and 735 receiving yards in his junior season. They were helped by the offensive line of Matthew Coverdale and Christian Busch as All-State recipients.

Defensively, the Governors had an All-State player at each level. Jason Maciejczak was a force on the defensive line three sacks and six tackles for loss while accumulating 21.5 tackles and also recovering a fumble. Gavin Stotts led the team in tackles with 106 and also had 18 tackles for loss. Stotts had an interception and two fumble recoveries. Jacob Mayer forced an interception from his free safety position and also had 33 tackles, a sack and two tackles for loss. Jayden Wiebe, the final recipient of the All-State team on special teams had two kick returns for touchdowns including a 98 yard return.

Steve Steele, head coach of the Pierre Governors says to balanced is a good thing for the program…

Steele says its great to have more memories from this year’s team…

Kienholz was also selected as the 11AA All-American for the class. You can see a full list of the 11AA All-State team below.



Quarterback: Lincoln Kienholz, Pierre, sr.

Fullback/tight end: Jett Zebel, Pierre, jr.; Keegan DeYoung, Tea Area, jr. and Tyson Brandt, Brookings, jr.

Running back: Chase Van Tol, Tea Area, sr.; Karson Carda, Aberdeen Central, sr.; and Juven Hudson, Watertown, jr.

Wide receiver: Jack Merkwan, Pierre, sr.; Tyler Sohler, Yankton, sr.; and Tyan Buus, Sturgis, jr.

Offensive line: Matthew Coverdale, Pierre, jr.; Christian Busch, Pierre, sr.; Jacob Krenz, Aberdeen Central, sr.; Griffen Schnider, Tea Area, sr.; Chase Crocker, Watertown, sr.; and Camen Max, Mitchell, sr.


Defensive line: Jason Maciejczak, Pierre, sr.; Trevon Austell, Mitchell, sr.; Caleb Loehr, Brookings, sr.; and Reis Kirschenman, Tea Area, sr.

Linebacker: Gavin Stotts, Pierre, sr.; Brady Hartwig, Spearfish, sr.; Reese Jacobs, Sturgis, sr.; and Jaxton Eck, Brookings, sr.

Defensive back: Jagger Tyler, Mitchell, sr.; Blake Thompson, Tea Area, sr.; Cody Oswald, Yankton, sr. and Jacob Meyer, Pierre, sr.

SPECIAL TEAMS: Jayden Wiebe, Pierre, sr.; and Trevor Paulson, Yankton, sr.

ATHLETES: Rugby Ryken, Yankton, sr.; Cade Kaiser, Pierre, jr.; Owen Cass, Sturgis, sr.; and Elliot DeVries, Huron, sr.

ALL-AMERICAN SELECTION: Lincoln Kienholz, Pierre, sr.

HONORABLE MENTION: Maddix Slykhuis and Jackson Smythe, Tea Area, sr.; Quinston Luellman-Clark, Huron, sr.; Gunner Rohloff, Sturgis, sr.; Brayden Delahoyde, Spearfish, jr.; Cole Artz and Brian Johnson, Aberdeen Central, srs.; and Lukas Bennett, Mitchell, sr.