Area Football Seniors to Play in All-Star Game

Area Football Seniors to Play in All-Star Game

The tradition continues as graduating seniors from across the state will be in Vermillion to play in the 2022 All-Star game. Four Area schools will have representation on this year’s teams.

The Blue team features four of the five area athletes as Pierre’s Matt Hanson will team up with Sully Buttes’ Schall boys, Jesse and Jordan along with Potter County’s Cooper Logan. On the Red team, Lyman’s Colton Collins will get the opportunity to play under head coach Pat Ruml of Howard. Mitchell’s Kent VanOverschelde will be the head coach of the Blue team.

Pierre’s Hanson will be making one last trip to the DakotaDome where he spent the last two seasons winning back-to-back titles with Pierre which ups the streak to now five. Steve Steele, head coach of the Pierre Governors, says after coaching in the All-Star game last year it’s every more reason to encourage seniors selected to go and play in this game…

Steele says the fun of participating in the All-Star game is seeing your opponents on the same sideline and other top guys from the rest of the classes in the state…

Steele says for Hanson, he’s a competitor and you don’t see many four sport athletes…

The game is scheduled for Saturday, June 11 in Vermillion at the DakotaDome.

Blue Team
Head coach: Kent VanOverschelde, Mitchell
Assistant coaches: Kim Nelson, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; Clayton Randall, Herreid/Selby Area; Griffith VanLeur, Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan; Ed Whiting, Sioux Falls Jefferson

Roster: Brady Koupal, Brandon Valley; Noah Thompson, Brandon Valley; Brock Longville, Brookings; Taron Serr, Burke; Payton Eben, Canton; Isaac Suter, Canton; Caden VanDrongelen, Corsica-Stickney; Landon Ruesink, Dell Rapids; Andrew Gustad, Gayville-Volin; Kyle Hirsch, Gayville-Volin; Trevor Sayler, Herreid/Selby Area; Trey Sayler, Herreid/Selby Area; Jayden Beck, Huron; Benjamin Gustafson, Langford Area; Camden Buchholtz, Madison; Nathan Ricke, Madison; Micah Van Ruler, McCook Central/Montrose; Jace Larson, Mitchell; Joe Van Overschelde, Mitchell; Tucker Vilhauer, Mitchell; Brady Bauer, Mobridge-Pollock; Ashton Pfitzer, Mobridge-Pollock; Grayson Hanson, Platte-Geddes; Jackson Neuman, Platte-Geddes; Matthew Hanson, Pierre; Cooper Logan, Potter County; Sean Domke, Redfield; David Alpers, Sioux Falls O’Gorman; Rush Landry, Sioux Falls O’Gorman; Emanuel Struck, Sioux Falls O’Gorman; Lane Ferguson, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; De’Andre Joseph, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; Pierce Miller, Spearfish; Jesse Schall, Sully Buttes; Jordan Schall, Sully Buttes; Isaac McFarland, Tri-Valley; Dawson Hanson, Warner; Braden Dierickx, West Central; Gavin Koch, West Central; Marrien Gohn, Wolsey-Wessington; Clay Olinger, WWSSC; Mason Schelske, WWSSC

Red Team
Head coach: Pat Ruml, Howard
Assistant coaches: Chad Williamson, Colman-Egan; Matthew Luze, Lennox; Dan Hughes, Sioux Valley; Brady Muth, YanktonRoster: Brady Rohrbach, Aberdeen Central; Alec Voegele, Aberdeen Central; Corbin Wirkus, Baltic; Aidan McCarty, Belle Fourche; Ashton Tjaden, Beresford; Gage Tennyson, Custer; Brodey Ballinger, Dakota Valley; Evan Van Scoyk, Dakota Valley; Colt Wilkinson, De Smet; John Pica, Dell Rapids St. Mary; Chase Kelly, Florence/Henry; Gabriel Johnson, Garretson; Dylan Kindt, Garretson; Michael Stevenson, Hamlin; Ty Beyer, Howard; John Callies, Howard; Jace Sifore, Howard; Dawson Johnke, Irene-Wakonda; Tell Mollman, Lemmon; Talon Trogstad, Lemmon; Jackson Arlt, Lennox; Steven Christion, Lennox; Colton Collins, Lyman; Richard Albers, New Underwood; Will Matson, Oldham-Ramona/Rutland; Eli Oxner, Rapid City Stevens; Johnny Cooper, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Cody Egger, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Kobe Lage, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Aiden Brink, Sioux Falls Washington; Josh Piper, Sioux Falls Washington; Carson Christopherson, Sioux Valley; Damian Danzeisen, Sioux Valley; Parker Puetz, Sioux Valley; Konner Berndt, Sturgis; Hunter Harrison, Sturgis; Hank Kraft, Timber Lake; Jayce Lawrence, Timber Lake; Zach Brady, Vermillion; Jack Kratz, Vermillion; Max Raab, Yankton; Bodie Rutledge, Yankton; Cameron Zahrbock, Yankton.