Pierre Track and Field Solid in ESD Showing

Pierre Track and Field Solid in ESD Showing

The Pierre Governors competed at the ESD Track and Field Championships in Yankton on Saturday. Maya Shorter took home a conference championship in the discus throw. The Governor boys finished in fifth place and the girls sixth.

Shorter set a new personal record in the event win at 123-04. Shorter also was third in the Javelin throw while Reese Terwilliger was fourth in the shot put and Marissa Matthews was fifth in the pole vault. Kali Ringstmeyer was second in the 100 meter run after placing fifth in the prelims. Ringstmeyer also had a fifth place finish in the 200 meter run. Addison Cumbow was fourth in the 100 meter hurdles and the team of Autumn Iverson, Lennix Dupris, Ryan Barry and Lily Sanchez was fifth in the 4×40 relay race.

On the boys side, Tucker Putzier also moved up in the finish of the 100 meter dash. Putzier finished fourth in the prelims and then placed third in the final run. Putzier also placed second in the 200 meters while Jared Lutmer had a second place finish in the 3200 meter run and Hayden Shaffer had a fifth place finish in both the 800 and 1600 meter runs. Jack Merkwan had a fourth place finish in the 300 meter hurdles and also fifth place in the 110 meter hurdles. The team of Cole Peterson, Landon Bertram, Putzier and Caden Thompson placed third in the 4×100 relay race. Merkwan along with Josh Strand Carson Stoeser and Canyon Jones was fourth in the 4×400 relay race. Aaron Campbell placed fourth in the javelin for the Governors.

You can see a full list of the results below.

ESD Results