Boys Wrestling Hands Out End of Season Team Awards

Boys Wrestling Hands Out End of Season Team Awards

Earlier this week, the Pierre Governor boys wrestling team handed out its end of the season team awards.

The Governors finished with three All-ESD members with Alex Oedekoven, Blake Judson and Deegan Houska as Judson also received academic all-state honors along with Nathan and Noah Williams, Hayden Shaffer and manager Faith Maunu.

Judson in his senior year, led the team in wins and winning percentage with 46 wins and 87%. He also had the most pins and tech falls with 26 and seven respectively. Chance Carda tied for the most escapes and reversals with 52 and 28 tying escapes with Nathan Williams and reversals with Jayden Wiebe. Oedekoven had the most takedowns with 82. Judson and Houska each received a most outstanding while Houska won Brooks Monfore heart of a champion. The Broer Hustler award went to Tristan Spencer, most improved went to Nathan Williams, the Obenauer Memorial Leadership Award went to Judson and Future Governor was Oedekoven.

You can see the full list of the selections below.

All ESD Selections

Alex Oedekoven

Blake Judson

Deegan Houska

Academic All-State

Nathan Williams

Noah Williams

Hayden Shaffer

Blake Judson

Faith Maunu

Boys Statistical Awards

Most Escapes (52) Chance Carda and Nathan Williams

Most Reversals (28) Chance Carda and Jayden Wiebe

Most Near Falls (42) Chance Carda

Most Takedowns (82) Alex Oedekoven

Most Pins (26) Blake Judson

Most Technical Falls (7) Blake Judson

Most Wins (46) and Best Winning % (87%) Blake Judson

Boys Team Awards

Broer Hustler Award- Tristan Spencer

Obenauer Memorial Leadership Award- Blake Judson

Most Improved- Nathan Williams

Most Outstanding JV- Chase Carda and Hudson Shaffer

Future Governor- Alex Oedekoven

Most Outstanding V- Blake Judson and Deegan Houska

Brooks Monfore Heart of a Champion – Deegan Houska