2021 South Dakota Cross County Coaches of the Year

2021 South Dakota Cross County Coaches of the Year

Last Thursday the South Dakota Cross Country and Track and Field Coaches Association awarded its Coaches of the Year for each area. Miller’s Tom McGough and Hillary Smith were awarded the Area 1 Class B coach of the year and assistant coach of the year. The Miller boys team won the team state championship with an impressive score of 25, beating out second place by 23 points. The Rustlers had two runners in the top five and four in the top 30.

Chamberlain’s Holly Evans won the Area 3 Class A Coach of the Year as the Chamberlain girls finished in second place in the state run behind only Custer for the state title.

You can see a full list of the coach’s of the year below.

Area 1

Class A – Eric Townsend – Milbank

Class B – Tom McGough – Miller

Assistant COTY – Hillary Smith – Miller

Area 2

Class A – Luke Vander Leest – Sioux Falls Christian

Class B – Kris Boekelheide – Northwestern
Middle School Assistant – Alyssa Gilbertson – Tea Area


AA Boys – Aaron Strand – Sioux Falls O’Gorman

AA Girls – Luke Jelen – Sioux Falls Lincoln

Area 3

Class A – Holly Evans – Chamberlain

Class B – Stephanie McCord – Kimball/White Lake

Assistant COTY – Dave Touch – West Central

Area 4

Class A – Karen Karem – Custer

Class B – Ralph Kroetch – Philip


AA Boys – Jesse Coy – Rapid City Stevens

AA Girls – Jesse Coy – Rapid City Stevens

Assistant COTY – Matt Osborne – Aberdeen Central