Academic All-State, All-American Cross Country Teams

Academic All-State, All-American Cross Country Teams

The 2021 Academic All-State and All-American cross country runners were announced last week. To qualify for academic all-state, you must be a senior, participating in the sport for three years, have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or better and nominated by the head coach.

Pierre Governors, Blake Judson and Hayden Shaffer were this year’s academic all-state recipients while Griffin Peterson was Sully Buttes’ lone representative. Other area academic all-staters were Madeline Knox and Carter LaMont of Highmore-Harrold and Alana Howard of Miller.

All-American runners for South Dakota:


Alea Hardie – Sioux Falls O’Gorman

Ali Bainbridge – Sioux Falls Lincoln

Honorable mention

Libby Castelli – Sioux Falls O’Gorman

Ruth Pardy – Sioux Falls O’Gorman


Sawyer Clarkson – Belle Fourche

Simeon Birnbaum – Rapid City Stevens

Honorable Mention

Kennan Urdiales – Spearfish

Josh Marton – Aberdeen Central

Circle of Champions Coach of the Year – Karen Karim – Custer